Eat to the Beat! Peanut Butter Cup

47b8dc33b3127cceb586a3b8ecb100000026108abtgbly4ctu.jpg

Why do you build me up (peanut) butter cup, baby?

This was my inspiration for the Eat to the Beat blog event. Elly, over at Elly Says Opa, created a this event, where you have to make a dish that somehow relates to food. I struggled with this for several days, before I heard this song on the radio. With it’s catchy lyrics and up-beat tune, Build me up Buttercup, but The Foundations, is one of my favorite oldies songs. I couldn’t believe I hadn’t thought of this sooner.

I was aiming to re-create the chocolate peanut butter cup dessert that is served at Uno’s. Nate loves this dessert. It has a crumbly cookie bottom, creamy peanut butter center and smooth chocolate top. I could not find any similar recipes out there, so I set out to make my own.

This is a very rich dessert, perfect for sharing!

img_0988.jpg

Peanut Butter Cup Dessert

  • 1 cup crushed chocolate cookies (I used chocolate Teddy Grams)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I think next time I may do 3/4 semi-sweet and 1/4 bitter-sweet)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine crushed cookie crumbs, sugar and 3 tablespoons melted butter. Divide and press into the bottom of 4 ramekins. Bake for 4-5 minutes in preheated oven, set aside to cool. (This step could probably be skipped, but I think baking the crust helps it hold together better)

Mix together peanut butter,  remaining tablespoon of butter and confectioners sugar, until smooth. Spread peanut butter mixture over cooled cookie crust.

Melt chocolate chips in a medium bowl over just barely simmering water, stirring occasionally. Pour chocolate over peanut butter mixture and spread into a smooth layer. Refrigerate for at least an hour.

To serve, dip ramekin into a bowl of warm water for a minute or so. Invert onto a plate, then onto serving plate. Serve with vanilla ice cream (I was out) and garnish with chocolate sauce.

7 Responses

  1. Your plating is really nice!!

  2. This sounds so good and looks beautiful! Build Me Up Buttercup is such a great song. Thanks for participating!

  3. Oh, this looks divine. I think my boyfriend would lick the screen if he was home right now. LOL

    And good song choice, too! 🙂

  4. Oh, I love any and all desserts that are made with peanut butter. I wish I had a bite of this right now!

  5. I am definitley going to try this one out! It looks amazing!!!

  6. This was SO GOOD!! However I added about a cup of whipped cream and about a 1/2 cup of cream cheese to the peanut butter part and it makes it even more creamier and better tasting!!! Thanks for sharing!! 😀

Leave a comment