Chicken Gyros with Tzatziki

So, I have made these gyros many times since Elly first posted the recipe last year, but never took a picture. After smelling the marinated chicken cook on the grill, and sampling the tzatziki with some tomatoes, I just want to assemble my gyro and eat! I finally decided that I can’t wait any longer to post this recipe, so I snapped a quick picture when we made them last week. Not my best picture, but you get the idea!

This is one of our favorite dinners to have in the summer. Easy to make, with just a little prep work, full of flavor, and nice and light for a hot day. I don’t put onions on mine, as I don’t like raw onions, but I have seen these posted everywhere with red onion. I don’t think this recipe could get much better, but someday soon I plan on trying homemade pita bread to have with these. I have heard it is delicious!

 Chicken Gyros

  • 4 Cloves Garlic, smashed
  • Juice of 1 Lemon
  • 2 teaspoons Red Wine Vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2 heaping tablespoons Plain or Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon Dried Oregano
  • 1 1/4 lbs Chicken Pieces (I used boneless, skinless breasts)
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Tzatziki (see below)
  • Sliced Tomatoes
  • Sliced Onions (omitted as I don’t like raw onions)
  • Pita Bread

Whisk together the garlic, lemon juice, vinegar, oil, yogurt, and oregano in a bowl. Add the chicken and rub the marinade in. Cover and refrigerate for about an hour.

Preheat the grill to medium heat (or broiler, or pan on the stove).  Sprinkle the chicken with salt and pepper on both sides, and then grill until cooked through, about 5 minutes per side, depending  what size/type chicken you are using. Allow the chicken to rest for a few minutes before slicing into strips.

Meanwhile, heat your pitas in a fry pan, in the toaster or spray with a bit of oil and place right on a gas burner. Top the pita with the chicken, tzatziki, tomatoes, onions. Roll up and eat!

Source: Elly Says Opa

Tzatziki

  •  16 oz. of plain or Greek yogurt (preferably not fat free)
  • 1/2 hothouse cucumber or 1 regular cucumber, peeled and seeded
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2-1 tsp white wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper
  • squeeze of fresh lemon juice
  • drizzle of extra virgin olive oil

Strain yogurt using a cheesecloth over a bowl for several hours or overnight to get out as much moisture as possible.

Shred the cucumbers and then wrap in a towel and squeeze to remove as much moisture as possible. Don’t skip this step!

Mix together the strained yogurt, shredded cucumbers, garlic, vinegar and lemon juice. Add salt and pepper to taste. It’s best to refrigerate for 30 minutes or more before serving, so flavors can meld.

Drizzle a little olive oil over the top. 

Source: Elly Says Opa.

You may also like:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 Responses

  1. Hmm…I have been craving gyros forever–I’m bookmarking this! Yours look great! 🙂

  2. I have been wants Gyros, can’t wait to try these!

  3. these have been on my to-make list since Elly posted them and all the raves just makes me want them more. maybe next week is finally the week! LOL.

    looks good!

Leave a comment