Sun-Dried Tomato Dip

We recently had some friends over for a get-together and I wanted to make a dip that would go well with chips and vegetables. While browsing the internet, I came across this recipe and since I love sun-dried tomatoes,  I knew this would be the perfect pick. The dip turned out creamy and flavorful, and was very easy to make in the food processor. Also very convenient since it can be made ahead of time. I served this with kettle chips and a variety of fresh cut vegetables.  

049

Sun-Dried Tomato Dip

  • 1 package (8 ounces) reduced-fat cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1/2 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper (cayenne)
  • 1 small clove of garlic, or half of a large clove
  • 1/2 cup drained sun-dried tomatoes, packed in oil
  • 1/2 cup loosely packed fresh basil leaves

In food processor with knife blade attached, pulse cream cheese, sour cream, mayonnaise, vinegar, salt, black pepper, ground red pepper and garlic until mixture is evenly blended and smooth.

Add tomatoes and pulse a few times until tomatoes are coarsely chopped. Add basil and pulse a few times until basil is coarsely chopped. If not serving right away, cover and refrigerate up to 4 days. *I would recommend refrigerating for at least 2 hours to let the flavors blend.

Source: Adapted from Good Housekeeping.

You may also like:

8 Responses

  1. I love simple, flavorful dips like this. They go with everything!

  2. I have this sundried tomato pesto in the fridge I’m trying to use up – I bet I could sub that and make a killer dip!

  3. This looks fantastic! Your presentation is so pretty too!

  4. What a great idea for a dip! It looks great!

  5. That sounds like a great combination. I keep thinking I need to find more time to invite friends over, just so I can justify making things like this! Having the dip with chips or veggies is a nice idea, too, so people can go more healthy if they have that kind of self control. I’d probably start with eating veggies, then cave in and eat the chips 🙂

  6. Yum, I love sun-dried tomato everything.

  7. Perfect for a Halloween Party. The color is great. Thanks Kathy.

  8. You know, I have a jar of sun-dried tomatoes in the pantry that I keep meaning to break out… 😉

Leave a comment