Mexican Layer Dip

I was asked to make this dip for a party we were having for a co-worker who was leaving at work. This dip could not be any simpler and it is always a hit. I know there are about a million variations on Mexican layer dips out there, but this is how I make mine, based on what I like of course. 🙂

I realize the pic is not very good, but I didn’t think my co-workers would appreciate me bringing in something from home with a big scoop missing, and I did not want to take a picture at work. So you get a lovely picture of lettuce, tomato and cheese.

img_0695.jpg

Mexican Layer Dip

  • 1 can fat free refried beans
  • 1 (16 oz) container light sour cream
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 2 cups shredded cheese- “Mexican” blend or cheddar or colby jack
  • 1/2 head of lettuce- shredded
  • 1 large or 2 small tomatoes- chopped
  • black olives- I left these off this time

Heat the beans over medium heat, season with garlic and onion powder to taste. Spread over the bottom of a 9×13 glass dish. Mix sour cream with 3/4 to entire packet of taco seasoning, depending on how “spicy” you want it. Spread sour cream over beans. Sprinkle 1 cup of the Mexican cheese over sour cream. Top with lettuce, tomato, remaining cheese and olives. Refrigerate for at least a couple hours before serving. However, if it is going to be several hours before serving, remove the seeds from the tomato to help prevent the dip from getting soggy.

Serve with tortilla chips, salsa and guacamole on the side.

One Response

  1. This sounds wonderful. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a comment