Chocolate and peanut butter…The ultimate combination

I have wanted to make Hershey’s Best Brownies for a while now, so when I had time I decided to go all out and add a creamy peanut butter frosting. I used to have a great recipe for peanut butter frosting, but unfortunately could not find it, so after some browsing I used this one from Allrecipes.com. Make sure you have a big glass of milk if you make these rich brownies!

img_0191.jpg

Best Brownie

  •  1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I did not use)

Heat oven to 350°F. Grease 9-inch square baking pan.
Stir together butter, sugar and vanilla in bowl. Add eggs; beat well with spoon. Stir together flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt; gradually add to egg mixture, beating until well blended. Stir in nuts, if desired. Spread batter evenly into prepared pan.

Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from sides of pan (I only baked about 18 minutes). Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into squares. About 16 brownies.

Peanut Butter Frosting

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3 tablespoons milk, or as needed
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar

Place the butter and peanut butter into a medium bowl, and beat with an electric mixer. Gradually mix in the sugar, and when it starts to get thick, incorporate milk one tablespoon at a time until all of the sugar is mixed in and the frosting is thick and spreadable. Beat for at least 3 minutes for it to get good and fluffy.

Update: I love this peanut butter frosting even more and would highly recommend it for these brownies!

4 Responses

  1. yum! i love chocolate and PB!

  2. These look fabulous! I love your blog.

  3. Those look absolutely delicious… Excuse me while I wipe the drool off my computer! LOL

  4. […] Hershey’s Best Brownies with Peanut Butter Frosting […]

Leave a comment