Baby Shower!

I recently had the honor of co-hosting a baby shower for my Sister-In-Law. She does not know whether she is having a boy or a girl, and is doing a Classic Pooh theme for the baby, so we continued with that theme for the shower. I was in charge of dessert, so I made a cake, cake balls and we also brought a chocolate fountain. Here is the dessert table set-up:

For the cake, I used the recipe for Dorie’s Perfect Party cake. I did not want a lemon cake though, so I left out the lemon zest and extract and subbed vanilla instead. I made the cake balls with Hershey’s chocolate cake and cream cheese frosting. Then dipped them in pastel colored candy melts, and decorated with a white M&M on top.  Here is a close up of the cake:

I also made pineapple chicken salad, raspberry almond mini muffins and maple pumpkin mini muffins, but I will blog about those in their own posts.

4 Responses

  1. that cake is gorgeous!!! I wish I had half your talent!

  2. Aww…your cake is so cute! You did a great job! Love the colors, the bees & the butterflies 🙂

  3. It sounds like it was a beautiful shower with lots of delicious food. I love how the Pook cake turned out!

  4. Wow…you did such a fabulous job! The cake is adorable and the cake balls have my mouth watering.

Leave a comment