Wilton Course 1, Class 2

This class built on the basics learned in the first class. I had to bring in an iced, 8-inch round cake which we then decorated and turned into a rainbow cake.

I have to say that the cake baked up beautifully. I baked the cake in an 8-inch round, 3-inch deep cake pan with the bake-even strips. I lowered the temp of the oven to 325 degrees and increased the baking time- I am not exactly sure how long, I started checking the cake at 1 hour and pulled it out when it looked done. After the cake cooled I used the cake leveler to level the top and make the layers.

The first actual challenge for me was frosting the cake. I used the cake icer tip to apply the icing and a flat spatula to spread and smooth the icing. This was much harder than I thought it would be. I had a hard time getting the icing to stick to the cake when it was coming out of the icer tip, then trying to smooth the icing with the spatula without it coming off the cake. This is the method my instructor recommended, but I am not sure it is the best way for me or maybe I just need more practice. If anyone has any tips, please feel free to leave a comment!

I brought my cake to class and learned how to decorate with the star tip, write with the round tip and how to do a piping gel pattern transfer. After a couple rounds on the practice board, I found the star tip and round tip fairly easy to use. The piping gel transfer technique is something that I think will definitely be helpful for future cakes.

Here is the end result:

Rainbow Cake

img_1260.jpg

I didn’t have anything going on that I could make this cake for, so I decorated it for my daughter who is turning 6 months old. As you can see below, she was totally impressed. 🙂

img_12701

Next class: Flowers and figures, the Wilton rose, shell border and drop flowers. The cake is the clown cake.

Additional supplies needed: additional colors: black and orange, and the creepy clown heads. I also picked up another pack of couplers for a total of 10. I will need to bring an 8-inch round, frosted cake to class.

6 Responses

  1. Your cake looks fabulous! I have been trying to get into a Wilton class for some time now, but it seems like the timing never works out! Crossing my fingers for April 🙂

  2. What a cute cake! And your daughter is adorable! I can’t wait to start mine!

  3. Looks GREAT! I love the blue color. Looks perfectly like the sky and the piping is so well done! You’re doing such a great job!

  4. Hi! You do not know me, but I am in Alabama taking the Wilton Course 1 right now. We are making this cake next Monday. Yours looks great! I just googles Wilton Rainbow cakes and yours came up. Another one came up too, but yours is so much prettier! (the other one’s colors were pastel and it just didn’t have the same effect) Anyway, you give me hope! It is just gorgeous.
    Emily in Alabama

  5. Hi, You don’t know me, but if your icing isn’t sticking to your cake when youre using the large tip, it means your icing is too stiff…..Just ad a bit of water.

  6. I am also taking a Wilton class right now. This post is pretty old, so you may know this already, but if you frost the cake frozen, it really helps. 🙂

Leave a comment